The Leading Journal for the Tyre Recycling Sector

The Leading Journal for the Tyre Recycling Sector

Indian NGT Orders Revised SOP for Pyrolysis Units 

The National Green Tribunal (NGT) in its recent last hearing cleared the case in favour of ordering the CPCB (Central Pollution Control Board) to frame SOP (Standard Operation Procedure) and allow batch pyrolysis plants to operate under new guidelines and SOP.  

The order dated 7th November states that it has seen that action has been taken against a number of non-compliant units, but there still remains a gap in the units which are non-compliant and units against whom action has been taken to close until compliant. Such gaps need to be bridged at the earliest in the interest of rule of law and environmental good governance.

Tyre Pyrolysis Oil Units (TPOs) need to follow ‘Zero Liquid’ and ‘Zero Emission’ norms. Furthermore, carbon produced during the process needs to be utilised in cement industries. Carbon material should not be simply transported to landfills.  

The bench directed that non-compliant units be closed expeditiously. The CPCB may finalise the classification of the units so that application norms can be enforced. Revised SOP may be finalised by the CPCB and MoEF & CC in light of discussion at the recent hearing and above observations within one month. SOP may also provide for certifying the fuel quality standards of pyro-oil as per the norms of the Petroleum Ministry.

The CPCB took action in compliance with NGT’s order dated 25.10.2021 and compiled a detailed report. The CPCB has compiled a compliance report from 17 states where TPO units presently operate, a detailed study of 70 TPO units. 

In consultation with expert members from NEERI & IIT-Delhi, CPCB has developed SoPs with reference to “Recycling of Waste Tyre Scrap for production of Tyre Pyrolysis Oil”. 

The SOP has been revised and aligned with the Hazardous and Other Wastes (Management and Transboundary Movement) Amendment Rules, 2022 notified on 21-07-2022. 

There are 757 Tyre Pyrolysis units (TPO Units) situated in 17 states. The greatest number of units is in the state of Uttar Pradesh (148) followed by Haryana (101), Rajasthan (95) and Maharashtra (85).  Out of 757 units, 349 units are compliant with consent conditions and SOP of MoEF &CC, 216 units are non-complying. Actions against non-complying units include closure directions/show cause notices being issued. Many of the non-complying units have been closed. In total, around 192 TPO units were closed. Most of the closed units were closed in compliance with CPCB‘s directions dated 04.12. 2019.  

Out of total 757 units, 749 units are operating on batch process, and eight units are based on continuous process. Most of the SPCBs/PCCs have categorised TPO units under the Red Category except for the States of Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

In the States of Haryana & Utter Pradesh, TPO units have been categorised under the “Orange” category, while in the States of Chhattisgarh & Uttarakhand, some of the units are categorised under Red, and some are categorised under Orange. In Jammu and Kashmir, 5 units have been categorised under the red category and one unit has been categorised under green.